18th May 2024

Mnemonic for remembering the geological timescale


The periods of the geological timescale are:

  • Cambrian, Ordovician, Silurian, Devonian, Carboniferous;
  • Permian, Triassic, Jurassic, Cretaceous;
  • Palaeocene, Eocene, Oligocene, Miocene, Pilocene, Pleistocene, Holocene.

The Mnemonic is

  • Camels Often Sit Down Carefully.
  • Perhaps Their Joints Creak.
  • Probably Early Oiling Might Prevent Premature Harm.

Leave a Reply